Posted on: February 20, 2009 8:16 pm

Orioles ST Battles

I really think this Orioles team is so bad is might get about 45 wins.  Sherrill will be one of the only bright spots with a low ERA and maybe 20-25 saves.

Starters 2-5: Koji Uehara vs. Rich Hill vs. Brad Hennessey vs. Mark Hendrickson vs. Danys Baez vs. David Pauley vs. Troy Patton vs. Hayden Penn vs. Radhames Lee vs. Chris Waters vs. Chris Tillman vs. Matt Albers vs. Jake Arrieta      I really have no idea what to make of this. I guess Rich Hill and MArk Hendrickson will make it. Baez might be in the pen. Penn is the 4th guy for me. I like Albers and Liz but they might have to go to the pen. Hennessey will be the last guy edging out Uehara.

Main IF reserve: Chris Gomez vs. Ty Wigginton vs. Ryan Freel      Gomez won't make it. Wigginton will be the main IF. Freel might play some OF.

Matt Wieter's assignment: MLB starter, reserve of AAA starter.   If he does go to AAA then Chad Moeller, Guillermo Quiroz, and Robby Hammock. Moeller has a big advantage.

Main OF: Justin Christian vs. Luis Montanez    Christian has a huge speed advantage, but Montanez has a nice bat. Christian will get the job to start the year.

7th Relief Pitcher: Radhames Liz vs. Jim Hoey vs. John Parrish vs. Matt Albers vs. vs. Alberto Castillo vs. Danys Baez vs. starting pitcher scrubs      I definitely have to got with Danys Baez just over Radhames Liz. Others will get chances with injuries like every year.

Non Roster makers: Chad Moeller, Robby Hammock, Chris Gomez, Koji Uehara, David Pauley, Guillermo Quiroz, Troy Patton, Chris Waters, Chris Tillman, Matt Albers, Jake Arrieta, Luis Montanez, Chris Gomez, Jim Hoey, John Parrish, Alberto Castillo, Rob McCrory, Kam Mickolio, Wilfrido Perez, Brian Bass, Oscar Salazar, Alfredo Simon

Matt Wieters, Aubrey Huff, Brian Roberts, Cesar Izturis, Melvin Mora, Luke Scott, Felix Pie, Adam Jones, Nick Markakis      Ryan Freel, Greg Zaun, Ty Wigginton, Justin Christian

Jeremy Guthrie, Rich Hill, MArk Hendrickson, Brad Hennessey, Hayden Penn              George Sherrill, Chris Ray, Jamie Walker, Danys BAez, Dennis Sarfate, Jim Miller, Jim Johnson

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com